POEM: 21st Century Dinosaur

Head full of memories, good ones friends, bad ones enemies,

Some my own and others from long-lost centuries.

Eyes looking forward but not seeing what’s in front of me,

Seeing back in time, trying to remake destiny.

Why do I do that? Why not live for here and now?

Need to evolve my brain past yesterday, but how?

They call me backward, I say they’re in a craze.

They believe in risk, I’m for tried and tested ways!

I’m a 21st century dinosaur, 

Stomping, chomping, scaring the world with my roar!

But this era has no place for fang or claw,

Better evolve before my carcass hits the floor! 

The wonders of history I see too vividly:

Axum, Songhai, Kemet, Meroe, Dahomey.

But they say that ship’s sailed and sunk,

They ask me a question I’d never thunk:

“Whatcha gonna do with all those random facts?

Keep hoarding more and more or turn them into acts?”

Then I realised I don’t wanna fossilise,

Stay ahead of Father Time, no let up, no compromise!

I’m a 21st century dinosaur, 

Stomping, chomping, scaring the world with my roar!

But this era has no place for fang or claw,

Better evolve before my carcass hits the floor! 

What use is the past with no prospect of future?

Regurgitating old news like a history tutor,

I know the great feats done by our ancestors

Ain’t no good with no present-day investors.

Too many yout drinking, smoking, shagging life away.

Me join in with them? No raatid way Jose!

So sure I was right, now I don’t know.

If I don’t make up my mind, only 1 way to go!

I’m a 21st century dinosaur, 

Stomping, chomping, scaring the world with my roar!

But this era has no place for fang or claw,

Better evolve before my carcass hits the floor! 

Better evolve before my carcass hits the floor,

Before this world decides it doesn’t need me anymore!

That’s my choice: the before or the here and now?

Learn from the new top predators, old ways disavow

But they’re only out for themselves, my enemy.

Better make them allies or I’ll have no serenity!

Turn around, walk forward, be strong, no slack!

Hey! They’re C21 dinos too?!? Join the pack!!!

Thought I was the only one left – I was wrong!

Even without me the past will still go on.

Nubia and other glories haven’t been forgotten,

I made a mistake when I said the world had gone rotten!

Conscious black youth are still in vogue

And just like before they’re still seen as rogue.

They also thought they were all alone, unwanted,

Now we can roam the Earth like we used to – undaunted!

I’m a 21st century dinosaur, 

Bigger brain, faster legs, sharper fangs and claws.

Not just the battles, time to win the war

For the lives of all C21 dinosaurs! 

Stomping, chomping, scaring the world with our roar!

The most seasoned clued-up hunters you ever saw,

On the brink of extinction? Not anymore! 

 We’re the 21st century dinosaurs! 

© ONE TAWNY STRANGER 2014

Leave a Reply

