Some notes on how I use common terms 4

Wow! It’s been a while since I did a race-related post, so I’m going to go back to that. Again this is referring to racial terms as I personally use them based on my ever-evolving knowledge of history, which may or may not agree with the common definitions:

Euro-Arabs: the name I give to most modern Arabs. They’re distinguished from ancient Arabs by their fair/ light/ pale skin, greater variety of hair & eye colour, predominance of ‘white’ European slave ancestry (which they like to completely deny), and often have a disdain for ‘black’ and Asian peoples – whether foreign workers or native-born. Sometimes I may also call them Arabised Europeans, but this may confuse their “mixed-race” status with 100%-European people living in Arabia – if such people still exist. I may also use the term Ziyuwd/ Ziydan which I introduced in an older post.

Admit it. If it weren’t for the headscarf you’d never know would you?

(note: Euro-Arabs aren’t just confined to the Arabian peninsula anymore. Over the centuries they’ve spread to other parts of southwest Asia & north Africa, and now trickling into east [Somalia, Sudan, Djibouti] & west Africa [Mauritania], which is why those lands are Arabic-speaking too. Modern Berbers/ Amazighs are a very good example)

Moroccan Berber children

Afro-Arabs: obviously this would refer to modern Arabs of predominantly enslaved African background. However, I rarely use this term or talk about these people because it’s so often a pointless distinction, similar to Americans/ African-Americans. Furthermore, in many cases it’s inaccurate as it’s often treated as synonymous with ‘black’ Arab, ignoring the fact that the original Arabs were ‘black’ and their unmixed descendants still exist in many parts of the Arabian peninsula!

I’m hesitant to put pictures as I may make that mistake myself, but I’m gonna give it a go:

3rd President of Egypt Anwar Sadat

They often look very similar to original Arabs, hence the confusion:

unmixed Mahri Arab man, NOT Afro-Arab
displaced Yemeni children

Despite my constant distinction between original & modern Arabs, I’m not saying the modern ones don’t have the right to call themselves Arab. Everyone has the right to self-identify however they want; that’s how tribes/ clans/ ethnic groups/ nationalities are defined anyway! But from various Internet forums I’ve seen, a lot of Euro-Arabs are committing an anachronism by claiming their phenotype & ancestry is identical to the original Arabs. They claim to be their direct descendants; even ‘white’ Americans don’t go that far!

Middle Easterners: I have occasionally used this term, simply for ease of reference &/or want of a better term. However, as it’s so Eurocentric (east of Europe, middle to Europe & east Asia aka. the Far East) I try not to use it anymore. Instead I use the term southwest Asians. Arabs do fall in this category but ‘white’ people often see them as interchangeable, which they’re not. As with Arabs, though, their ethnic backgrounds are hugely diverse so I more often distinguish by country than ethnicity.

Afghan druggie injecting crack into his groin!
Iraqi women voting
Pashtun man, Afghanistan
Iranian girl, probably Afro-Iranian as the original ‘black’ Iranians were driven out en masse
Turkish woman

About Turks, I put them in this category for completion but Turkey is considered a transcontinental country, as it covers southwest Asia & Europe (which is just west Asia anyway). I also kind of see Afghanistan as “the dividing line” between southwest & south Asia, though of course there is cultural & ethnic overlap.

Latinos/ Hispanics: I personally hate this term. To me it’s nothing but a catch-all to describe the European cultural influence while ignoring the mixed African & native American influences. I prefer the term Samericans (my shorthand for south Americans), but keep in mind that most of them have predominantly south European (Spanish & Portuguese) ancestry. However, most Samericans have mixed African, native & European blood whether they look it or not.

Update: “Latin America” includes most central American & Caribbean countries, eg. Puerto Rico, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, as well as Mexico which is in NORTH America. Basically, Latinos/ Hispanics have culture and language in common much more than ethnicity.

In other words, I’m lost for a term again! Maybe something to show they’re Americans south of USA…

native Taramuhara Mexicans in traditional garb (except the boy)
Yes! An excuse to put another Amara la Negra pic in my blog!!!
And him.

Maybe non-US Americans? Then again that could include Canada. Hmmm…

More to come later.

4 thoughts on “Some notes on how I use common terms 4”

  1. “Despite my constant distinction between original & modern Arabs, I’m not saying the modern ones don’t have the right to call themselves Arab. Everyone has the right to self-identify however they want”

    To this I say that they should call themselves Musta’rab (spelled Mozareb in Andalus), meaning, roughly, ‘arabized’. It’s true that people can call their selves whatever they want, but when it’s clear that in so doing they intend (often) intentional deceit (i before e, except after c) they should be called to account, as in the case of the self-styled Arabs of today.

    I live in the Arabian Peninsula and I call these cats out when they try to go there. Oftentimes they agree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

