Here we go again – again

Inspired by yet another conversation with a Muslim guy I met on the bus last week (4/8/2015). Not this one, a new guy. 

It all started when my phone suddenly played up. There was plenty of battery life but it didn’t let me make or receive calls, texts, emails, nothing! I still have no idea what happened. When I got on the bus and tried to use it, this guy claimed the CPU processor was damaged. He offered to have a quick look at it, but all he did was turn on & off mobile data, Wifi and Bluetooth. All the while claiming he’d been a computer programmer or something for 5 years. Then he admitted he didn’t know what to do and blamed it on not eating all day.

Whatever.

After that he claimed he knew me from a long time ago. I didn’t know him at all, but he said he’d seen me in various masajid around my area. I thought he could be right so I carried on talking to him. He told me he’d been training to become a hafiz (memoriser of the whole Qur’an by heart) at some special institution, I told him I’d been doing the same except without the institution. Which was true; in my late teens I’d memorised about 32 suwrahs.

All was well until we exchanged names. Mine is so unmistakably Islamic it’s ridiculous, so when I told him I’m not a Muslim he flipped!

God damn it.

The dopey bastard made lots of stupid assertions:

There’s no such thing as ex-Muslims. I told him about the Council of Ex-Muslims of Britain, and he flat out didn’t believe me.

My ethnic background (which I refused to tell him) may have made me misunderstand the religion. Cheeky little shit. As if he (being of Sasian background, who were historically Hindus) had the right to tell me I’d been following it wrongly. Especially after claiming to “know” me and seeing me in the masajid.

I must’ve had some bad experience with a shaykh or family member that made me apostatise, no-one stops being Muslim by choice. Mind simply too weak to handle the possibility of his beliefs being wrong.

I was pretending about my name, and about having ever been a Muslim. At that point the little asswipe pissed me off royally. I made sure to shut him up there and then. I jackhammered it into his head that my name is my name whether I’m a Muslim or not. My new spiritual status doesn’t change diddly-squat on my birth certificate. Fair enough you assumed I’m Muslim when you heard it, I told him, but don’t ever – and I mean bloodclaat EVER! – say I’m pretending about having been one. He then claimed he didn’t say that, which I corrected him on straight away.

At one point throughout the argument we discussed contradictions in the Qur’an. Needless to say he said there were none. I gave the example of the number of “days” Allah is said to have created the world in, Qur’an says 6 in one place and 2 in another. He asked for a specific chapter & verse number. I said “Why would I bother remembering that if it’s not part of my life anymore?” He then made out that without a reference I can’t back up my argument. I told him he could easily check the internet for the reference, at which point he got scared and said he doesn’t have a robotic or encyclopedic mind like that.

Remember he said he’d trained to become hafiz. There is no way you can be hafiz without having an encyclopedic/ robotic kind of mind. My mind was exactly like that when I was memorising Qur’an. What kind of hafiz was he?

Worse, throughout the discussion he was trying to drown out my voice by constantly talking over me. I told him he wasn’t listening, he said (and I quote) “Why should I listen to you?”

Y’what? 👹

I pointed out that he’s carrying on like a typical Muslim. He got offended and said, “Like a typical Muslim?” Bear in mind there were 2 Muslim women sitting right next to him listening to the whole thing, and a 3rd well within earshot, and I replied, “Yes like a typical Muslim, because most Muslims I’ve told about my irtidad carry on exactly like you. You’re all the same.”

Admittedly that’s not quite true. None had to date been as bad as him, though the difference is only in degree. The type of response was identical.

Provocative, yes. Offensive, arguably. Wrong, no.

Good Lord, what’s wrong with these religious people why they can’t even accept that apostates exist? I admit, when I was a Muslim I used to believe they only existed from other faiths not my precious Islam, but then I read enough ahadiyth to know that couldn’t be true.

And the dopey bastard still didn’t sort out my phone. It sorted itself out after dying and recharging.

SMH.

Oh, and:

I need to come to the masjid with him. Why? Am I supposed to drop my own plans, my own life, for a guy I don’t know? Besides, with a mouth as unreliable as his, he’d probably take me to a Saudi strip club instead. 😆

Leave a Reply

