POEM – GALVANIC GUIDANCE

The night I was struck by lightning was the night I almost died.

The night I almost died was the night I truly came alive.

 

Let me tell you how…

 

Before that bolt hit me I’d been living in a daze,

Always enthralled by every new trend and craze,

Never caring to think about the fate of my ways,

Yet sensing need for guidance out of my haze.

 

I’d been mentally empty, I knew that already,

But even I never knew exactly how unsteady

My soul was. I’d blamed the haze in my head-y

On my mum’s breakdown since dad got up and fled-y.

 

I mistook parties, booze, chicks & bling for success.

I caught at least 3 new girls a week, I’d proudly confess

To my mates, most of whom are now under arrest

For selling, using, making drugs. We all thought ‘twas bless.

 

Until that night…

 

The zap of that bolt as it hurtled down the oak tree

Shocked my eyes so that I at last saw clearly.

As my body numbed I at last knew that in me

Was the source of my woes, not dad or mum really.

 

As I lay barely conscious on the soil I heard my mates cry,

“It’s too late fo’ that sucker, he was dumb to keep hisself by

That tree. Oh snap, the 5-0’s rolling up! C’mon let’s fly!”

Crunch time: shall I live anew or cling to old ways and die?

 

Now I live, free from chicks, bling, parties & booze.

I’d thought that was living but it was nothing to lose.

I’m smarter, happier, better; now the only drug I use

Is knowledge of my Creator about whom I enthuse.

 

No more nameless chicks, I’ve settled down with a wife:

A gorgeous sable princess who’ll be mine for life.

Now I can read and write, getting my dream job was no strife.

Staying as I was would kill me but I dodged Reaper’s scythe.

 

There’s more to existence than this world all around;

We all are charged with the mission to envelop & surround

All people near to us with faith, and have each other bound

Together with peace and love, as what I have now found.

 

The night I was struck by lightning was the night I almost died.

The night I almost died was the night I truly came alive.

 

© ONE TAWNY STRANGER 2011

Leave a Reply

